FCPS Presents Several Awards to Non-teaching Personnel

For Immediate Release
Contact: Steve Edwards, Coordinator of Policy and Communications
August 10, 2016
540-662-3888 ext. 88235

Frederick County Public Schools recognized employees from 13 different areas during its support staff convocation this afternoon. This is the 17th year the awards have been presented to recognize the accomplishments and contributions of the school division’s support staff.

There are five award categories for support staff which include: Bus Driver of the Year; the Gala Award, for custodians, couriers, maintenance workers, mechanics, and school security officers; the Macintosh Award, for instructional, library, and bus aides; the Rome Award, for school nutrition services staff; and the York Award, for accompanists, classified employees in the administration building, clerical staff, nurses, student support specialists, psychologists and sign language interpreters.

Phil Dellinger was selected the Bus Driver of the Year. Dellinger drove Bus 12 during the 2015-16 school year and served students at Armel Elementary School and Sherando High School. He has been a bus driver for Frederick County Public Schools for 37 years and accumulated 34 years of safe driving.

This year’s Gala Award winner was Ronnie Long, a custodian at the school division’s administration building. The runner-up was Norman Bayliss, a custodian at Redbud Run Elementary School.

Katherine Toler, a special education aide at Millbrook High School, was the winner of the Macintosh Award. Robert E. Aylor Middle School special education aide Kathleen Bochert was the runner-up.

The recipient of the Rome Award was Sharon Luttrell, a school nutrition services employee at Indian Hollow Elementary School. Donna Hartley, a school nutrition services employee at Millbrook High School, was the runner-up.

The winner of the York Award was Rosa Hawkins, a secretary at James Wood High School. Winter Brook, a secretary at the school division’s administration building, was the runner-up.

For the Gala, Macintosh, Rome, and York Awards, the procedure begins with a nomination process. Any employee may nominate another employee for an award and each site may elect one individual in each category. The nominees then complete application forms which are reviewed by a panel of judges. An award recipient and a runner-up are selected for each category.

The recipient of each award receives a plaque and a monetary gift of $500. Each runner-up receives a framed certificate and a monetary gift of $250.